Why Do I Need A Louisiana Accident Report?

Why Do I Need An Accident Report?

Whether you’ve been in a minor fender-bender or a major collision, it is always in your best interest to file an accident report with the Louisiana Department of Public Safety and Corrections (DPSC). An official Louisiana accident report will provide all pertinent information regarding the crash, and can help ensure you receive the appropriate compensation.

If you are involved in a collision on Louisiana roads, an officer at the scene will likely complete the official accident report. In cases in which emergency services do not respond to your crash, you may still be required to file an accident report.

Requirements for Reporting an Accident in Louisiana

According to Louisiana state law, you must report any accident to local police as soon as possible following a collision that results in:

  • More than $500 in damages
  • Injury
  • Death

A written report should be completed and filed with the DSPC within 24 hours of your accident if the crash resulted in:

  • More than $100 in damages
  • Injury
  • Death

Failure to file a report within the designated time frame could result in fines of $100 or up to 60 days in jail.

Get a FREE Copy of Your Crash Report

Forget the long lines at state agencies and unnecessary fees. Get a copy of your crash report at no cost to you!

Requirements for Filing an Accident Report in Louisiana

According to the Louisiana state law, any driver involved in a collision must report it to police if any of the following occur as a direct result:

  • Injuries
  • Death
  • $2,500 in property damage (or more) occurs

Failure to report an accident under these parameters is considered a class C misdemeanor in Louisiana. You could face license suspension for neglecting to report an accident if required.

Louisiana Accident Report FAQs

It typically takes Louisiana State Police approximately 10-15 business days to file the report and photos.

If an accident report is not filed within 24-hours of your crash, you may face fines up to $100 and/or 60 days imprisonment.

Witness statements are not a requirement for a Louisiana accident report. However, they can be very helpful when it comes to the claims process. It is the duty of the responding police officer to take down any witness statements, although gathering witness statements and contact information independently may be useful if you are able to.

If the other driver or drivers involved in your crash flees the scene before police arrive, you should always remain at the scene. Never chase after the other individual as this could result in confrontation, further damage, and even injury.

In the event of a hit-and-run, you should attempt to take photos of the other vehicle and its license plate, which can help investigators locate the other driver at a later time. If you are unable to take photos, try to provide the police with as many details about the other vehicle as possible.

The Louisiana State Police charge a fee of $11.50 to retrieve your crash report online. However, you can get a completely FREE copy of your report here without leaving your home.

Why You Should Always File An Accident Report

Even if your accident does not meet the state’s minimum threshold as described above, it is still in your best interests to do file a report with local police.

Having an official accident report that can be used as evidence is vital should you pursue compensation for your injuries and other expenses.

The immediate aftermath of a car accident can be overwhelming, and it’s easy to lose track of the fine details that could make or break an eventual claim. An official accident report filed by a police officer preserves a neutral record of the incident as it happened, and can prove incredibly effective when used as evidence in an insurance dispute or court case. The officer is an impartial third party and therefore has an unbiased view of the collision, whose opinion can be much more effective when determining who was at fault in the crash as opposed to the involved parties’ narrative of what took place.

Although you can still file a claim with your insurance company without an official police report, including a report can seriously strengthen your case. Providing a police report to your adjuster or to the court can expedite the claims process and increase the value of any settlement or judgment.

Simply put, a Louisiana crash report is an invaluable document, regardless of whether you are currently considering a claim. The state of Louisiana charges $11.50 for each crash report, and other services may charge an additional fee on top of this. However, we believe you should never be charged for this publicly available documentation.

Get Your Crash Report Today!

Get the clearest account of your crash and make filing your accident claim easier by requesting your free Louisiana crash report. Others will charge you money for the report about your crash, but we believe that you should never have to pay for information that’s legally yours.
We were founded on a mission to assist people who were involved in car wrecks in Louisiana by providing giving them access to the resources they need. By providing free crash reports, helpful advice, and connection to legal and medical resources, we hope you can put your accident behind you once and for all.
© 2024 Free Louisiana Accident Reports
Powered by Free Louisiana Accident Reports