How Do I Get A Copy Of My Crash Report?

Being involved in a crash can be an overwhelming and confusing experience, and trying to navigate the complex claims process can add to that stress. One way to limit this aggravation is to get a copy of your official accident report as soon as possible.

The first important step you can take after being involved in a crash is to call the police. Even if the incident was a simple fender-bender, it could benefit you in the future to have an officer take on an official report at the scene.

The officer serves as an impartial third party. This means they will have no bias towards either driver and can accurately report what transpired. Once a law enforcement official is at the scene, they will be able to record all pertinent information about the crash, including:

  • The identities and contact information for both parties involved in the crash
  • The exact location of the crash, including geographic coordinates and cross streets
  • The number of people hurt and the severity of their injuries
  • Diagrams and an official narrative of how the crash transpired
  • Damage to property Witness statements Road conditions

If an officer is not called to the scene of the crash, you are still required to provide local police with a description of the collision within 24 hours of the incident, if any of the following took place:

  • Injury
  • Death
  • Property damage over $100

The consequences for failing to report a collision that meets these requirements include a fine of up to $100 and up to 60 days in jail. Additionally, you could have trouble recovering the money you’re owed if you do not report the crash in a timely fashion.

What Happens After the Accident Report is Filed?

Once your accident report is filed, you should acquire an official copy of that report as soon as possible. The Louisiana State Police can provide a copy of your accident report but, they charge a fee of $11.50 to retrieve the copy online.

You can also pick up a copy of your crash report in person at the local state police office. Before arriving at the police office, you will need a crash report request form to present to the clerk. Once the clerk has the proper paperwork, you will be charged $10 for the first page and $1 for each additional page.

Get a FREE Copy of Your Crash Report Today!

Forget the long lines at state agencies and unnecessary fees. Get a copy of your crash report at no cost to you!

Frequently Asked Questions About Receiving Your Crash Report

You can request a copy of your crash report by calling the Louisiana State Police Headquarters in Baton Rouge. However, you will be charged a processing fee. You can request an absolutely FREE copy of your report right here.

Yes. One way to request a copy of your official crash report is by contacting the officer or law enforcement agency that responded to the incident, or the municipality in which the collision occurred. They will tell you what next steps to take in order to file a request for a copy your crash report.

Once your report is available, you can pick it up during normal business hours at the Louisiana State Police headquarters in Baton Rouge. This process may also require you to pay a fee.

You can request certified copies of your accident photos through the Louisiana State Police Photo Lab. It typically takes about 15 days after the accident for your photos to become available, at which time you can submit a request via fax, mail, email, or by calling the Photo Lab at (225) 925-3518.

If you cannot provide your accident report file number upon request, you may be asked to provide specific details of the crash to locate the report. These questions may include:

  • Your full name and contact information.
  • The date and time of the crash.
  • The address in which the accident occurred.

According to Louisiana State Law, any interested person may receive copies of an official crash report from the state police, sheriff’s office, or local police office. However, these entities are allowed to charge a fee for each report plus additional pages.

How to Get Your FREE Louisiana Accident Report Online

If you have been involved in a collision on Louisiana roads, we believe it is your right to have a copy of the subsequent record without having to pay a fee. That is why we will provide your official accident report quickly and without the use of a major credit card.

You can avoid the troublesome paperwork, unnecessary fees, and long lines by getting a completely free accident report without even leaving your home today. Just complete the short questionnaire, and we will send you an official copy of your report as soon as possible. Click here to get started!

Get a 100% FREE Copy of Your Accident Report!

Don’t waste your valuable time and money to get information that’s legally yours. Simply provide a few details about your accident, and we’ll provide an official copy of your crash report at absolutely zero cost to you!
We were founded on a mission to assist people who were involved in car wrecks in Louisiana by providing giving them access to the resources they need. By providing free crash reports, helpful advice, and connection to legal and medical resources, we hope you can put your accident behind you once and for all.
© 2024 Free Louisiana Accident Reports
Powered by Free Louisiana Accident Reports